Concert 1:

“The Land of Nod”


Where dreams are born.


Stratus Chamber Orchestra begins its 20th Anniversary Dream Season with a journey to the Land of Nod, the place where dreams begin. As night falls and the stars begin their nocturnal dance, so we have always found the early darkness to be a magical time to celebrate and make music.

We begin with some of the most famous night music ever written – Mozart’s Eine kleine Nachtmusik (A Little Night Music). 

Tanya Gabrielian then joins Stratus Chamber Orchestra for Manuel de Falla’s Nights in the Gardens of Spain. It is the evocation of aromas and perfumes and the enchantments of three spellbinding gardens in Spain.

Oberon, Titania and Puck take control of our dreams in selections from incidental music for A Midsummer Night’s Dream, by Felix Mendelssohn. 

The performance ends with a beautiful elegy by American composer Brian Balmages called Dreaming. 


Join Stratus for an evening of enchantment in the Land of Nod.

September 29 – 1st Plymouth Congregational Church

September 30 – Augustana Lutheran Church

Featuring Tanya Gabrielian, Piano
  • Mozart: Eine kleine Nachtmusik
  • Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain
  • Mendelssohn: Midsummer Night’s Dream (incidental selections)
  • Balmages: Dreaming






Tanya Gabrielian, Piano

Hailed by the London Times as “a pianist of powerful physical and imaginative muscle,” Tanya Gabrielian has captivated audiences worldwide with her gripping performances. She has performed on four continents in acclaimed venues including Carnegie Hall in New York, Kennedy Center in Washington D.C., Sydney Opera House, Queen Elizabeth Hall and Wigmore Hall in London, and the Salle Cortot in Paris, with such orchestras as the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, New London Sinfonia, and the Armenian Philharmonic Orchestra.  Read More